Japan is geographically wide spread from North East to South West. Urban areas are however concentrated into three major “greater” areas:

  1. Greater Tokyo Area: consisting of Tokyo, Kanagawa, Saitama and Chiba prefectures
  2. Greater Nagoya Area: consisting of Aichi, Gifu and Mie prefectures
  3. Greater Kansai Area: consisting of Osaka, Kyoto, Hyogo and Nara prefectures

 The three greater urban areas occupies over 50% of population and GDP of Japan. Among the three, Greater Tokyo Area is the largest, concentration of 30% of population and GDP of Japan.

Source: Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications (MIAC) (Japanese)

Source: Japan Cabinet Office (Japanese)